Later yesterday, YouTube announced a new privacy option for uploading videos – Unlisted videos. Now you can upload videos in your YouTube account and mark them as “Unlisted”.
The unlisted videos are sort of private videos, which will never appear in the video search result pages. Only those people can view and comment on your unlisted video who know the Video URL, rest of the world does not knows about it.
The “unlisted videos” are also hidden from your channel page, which means your subscribers will not get any update whenever you upload a new video and mark it as “unlisted”.
Earlier, YouTube allowed a similar privacy feature – share the video with a maximum of 25 YouTube users. That feature is kept intact but with Unlisted videos, there is no limit on the number of people who can view a video. Another feature worth mentioning – the viewers do not need a YouTube account to view the private video of yours.
This appears strange, if privacy is a concern and YouTube wants to add the ability to upload private videos, why not add a restriction on the number of viewers?
However, the “unlisted” sharing mode will be useful for many users. Consider a scenario: you have a small video clip of your wedding anniversary and want to share the video with a distant friend. Just upload the video in your YouTube account, mark it as “unlisted” and share the URL with your friend. Remember to tell your friend not to share the URL with anyone else.
Are you going to use the “unlisted” mode for YouTube videos? Share your ideas in the comments section.