Firefox Scam Email to make Money From Adsense Referals

Posted By Keith Dsouza On May 22, 2007 @ 5:37 pm In Uncategorized | 9 Comments

I just came across a email today and probed it further to see what it is all about. My investigations led me to unearthing a new scam to make money using Google Adsense Referals.

What exactly is this scam. I recieved a email from download@firefox.com [1] to download New Firefox 2008. Now this is not a email from Firefox but a email id that is spoofed and has been send from a different domain altogether, check screen shots below.

Now that is not so interesting yet, here is how the email looks like

If you see it is similar to how Firefox website looks. Ok so what’s the big deal. Well once I clicked on the link it takes me to a website ht**://pspcolls.co.uk/Firefox.htm which displays the same screen as in the email. Now here is the big money maker when I click on the link to try it out it takes me to another site ht**://firfox.bravehost.com/ where the user is showing a Google Adsense referal link to download the software.

Google pays out $1 for every referal download so you can imaging how much money this guy can make already. So look out for such emails which may be just sent to fool you. I will try and contact all concerned sites with the appropriate information.


Article printed from Techie Buzz: http://techie-buzz.com

URL to article: http://techie-buzz.com/tech-news/firefox-scam-download-email.html

URLs in this post:

[1] download@firefox.com: mailto:download@firefox.com

Copyright © 2006-20011 Techie Buzz. All rights reserved.