Flickr Photo Session: A New Way to Share Photos in Real-Time

Flickr has announced Photo Session, a whole new way to share photos with friends around the world in real-time. All you need to do is to create a Photo Session, invite up to 10 of your friends, and flip through the photos together in real-time. Using Flickr Photo Session is like flipping through a photo book while sitting next to your friend.

You can start a Photo Session by going to any set or photostream that has sharing options enabled. Select the photos that you’d like to share and choose ‘Start a Photo Session’ in the sharing menu. If the photo owner has not enabled sharing, the options will be grayed out. Photo Session allows you to get your friends’ reactions and comments on your photos instantly. When you move to the next photo it moves for everyone else too. You can also doodle on parts of the photo with the drawing tool and chat away with each other using the built-in chat widget, all at the same time. You can’t flip when the drawing tool is enabled but anyone can turn it off when you’re ready to move on.

A Photo Session will stay open for 24 hours. You can invite your friends on Flickr via email or send out the link to your contacts. Also, you don’t have to have a Flickr account to use Photo Session. Anyone can flip the photos but you need to sign-in if you want to chat or draw.

Photo Session is still a work in progress and has been announced today in a preview mode as Yahoo irons out the issues and optimizes the experience for everyone. Currently Photo Session is only available in English, and is supported on latest versions of Chrome, Safari, and Firefox. That’s hard luck for Internet Explorer 9 users like me. You can also use Photo Session on your iPhone or iPad.

Flickr Photo Session

Published by

Abhishek Baxi

Abhishek Baxi is an independent technology columnist for several international publications and a digital consultant. He speaks incessantly on Twitter (@baxiabhishek) and dons the role of Editor-in-Chief here at Techie Buzz.