Firefox Scam Email to make Money From Adsense Referals
By on May 22nd, 2007

I just came across a email today and probed it further to see what it is all about. My investigations led me to unearthing a new scam to make money using Google Adsense Referals.

What exactly is this scam. I recieved a email from [email protected] to download New Firefox 2008. Now this is not a email from Firefox but a email id that is spoofed and has been send from a different domain altogether, check screen shots below.

Now that is not so interesting yet, here is how the email looks like

If you see it is similar to how Firefox website looks. Ok so what’s the big deal. Well once I clicked on the link it takes me to a website ht**://pspcolls.co.uk/Firefox.htm which displays the same screen as in the email. Now here is the big money maker when I click on the link to try it out it takes me to another site ht**://firfox.bravehost.com/ where the user is showing a Google Adsense referal link to download the software.

Google pays out $1 for every referal download so you can imaging how much money this guy can make already. So look out for such emails which may be just sent to fool you. I will try and contact all concerned sites with the appropriate information.

Tags:
Author: Keith Dsouza Google Profile for Keith Dsouza
I am the editor-in-chief and owner of Techie Buzz. I love coding and have contributed to several open source projects in the past. You can know more about me and my projects by visiting my Personal Website. I am also a social networking enthusiast and can be found active on twitter, you can follow Keith on twitter @keithdsouza. You can click on my name to visit my Google+ profile.

Keith Dsouza has written and can be contacted at keith@techie-buzz.com.
  • http://tech.cybernetnews.com Ryan Wagner

    That is definitely pretty underhanded, but I’m surprised the scammers didn’t try to take it a step further and reskin the download button to incorporate the Adsense Referral code. That way they wouldn’t have needed to take the user to another download page.

  • keith

    Ryan,

    Very true, but he came up against a geek so i was able to track the flaws, any normal unsuspecting user would been fooled.

    I have reported the activity to both host and adsense, as it is a case of cheating.

    Keith

  • http://www.nirmaltv.com Nirmal

    Scams everywhere and in adsense too. This shows to what extend people can go to make money. Too intelligent guy. Thanks for pointing it out.

  • http://tech.cybernetnews.com Ryan Wagner

    I’m glad you reported it Keith, hopefully it will prevent some people for falling for it. I guess the bright side of things is that they are spreading Firefox. :)

  • http://www.rishiraj.info Rishi

    I have got such emails a lot but now I’m crazy because ADSENSE HAVE NOT APPROVED ME!

  • keith

    @Nirmal True but if people like us make others aware it would be good

    @Ryan True but by scamming people lol

    @Rishi when did you apply for adsense?

  • Pingback: Links for 25-May-2007 | -| Life Rocks ! 2.0 |-Technology, Internet, Blogging, Life and Thoughts

  • Pingback: Speed Linking -1 at Technology Bites

  • http://adsensereadysiteweb.blogspot.com/ daniel

    thanks for the info. I also getting lots of this email.

 
Copyright 2006-2012 Techie Buzz. All Rights Reserved. Our content may not be reproduced on other websites. Content Delivery by MaxCDN