US Cellular Launches The Samsung Galaxy Metrix 4G

US Cellular recently launched the entry-level Samsung Galaxy Metrix 4G smartphone, exclusively for its subscribers in the US. This handset is powered by the old Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) Operating System and it runs on the 4G LTE network, with speeds up to 10 times faster than 3G. This handset comes with a slide-out QWERTY keyboard, which allows you type your message quickly and a front-facing camera for video calls.

Edward Perez, vice president of sales and marketing operations for U.S. Cellular, said:
“We are excited to offer our latest 4G LTE smartphone for our customers to help them get more done in less time. The large touchscreen and popular QWERTY keyboard for fast typing make the Galaxy Metrix 4G the go-to device for customers who depend on their smartphone to keep up with their busy schedules.”

Samsung Galaxy Metrix 4G features a 4 inch Super AMOLED touchscreen display, sporting a resolution of 480 x 800 pixels, 1 GHz processor, slide-out QWERTY keyboard, Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) Operating System, 5 megapixel rear camera and camcorder, 1.3 megapixel front-facing camera for video calls and much more.

It also comes with the usual 3.5 mm headset jack, FM Radio, Bluetooth, MicroUSB 2.0, Wi-Fi 801.11 b/g/n, 4G LTE connectivity, Google Play Store, MicroSD card slot, 32 GB expandable memory, Portable Wi-Fi Hotspot, up to 7 hours of talk-time and up to 14.5 days of stand-by time. This handset measures 4.96″ x 2.54″ x 0.55″ and weighs approximately 5.8 ounces.

The Galaxy Metrix 4G is available for $179.00 after a $100 mail-in rebate and 2 year service agreement. However, you can get this device for $129.00 after a $100 mail-in rebate in markets where 4G service is currently available or will be available by the end of 2012.

U.S. Cellular currently offers 4G LTE service covering 31 percent of their customers in select cities in Iowa, Maine, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Texas and Wisconsin. Later this year, 4G LTE coverage will expand to cover select cities in Illinois, Maryland, Missouri, New Hampshire, Oregon, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, Washington and West Virginia.