Tag Archives: Facebook Spam

Warning: Miley Cyrus Sick Video Scam on Facebook

After a week of lull, I came across a new Facebook scam which is spreading rapidly among users. The new scam posts an update or likes a web page on about a Miley Cyrus video.

Miley Cyrus Facebook Scam

The new Facebook scam is spreading by posting a link which is reportedly a video of Miley Cyrus with a message "SICK! I lost all respect for Miley Cyrus when I watched this video!" or "SICK! I lost all respect for Miley Cyrus when I watched this video! must above 18 to see this video)@ [link redacted]".

I am seeing about 40-50 people liking this site and link every minute. As usual, do not click on enticing links like these, please make sure to check out earlier Facebook Scams too to learn more about protecting yourself on Facebook.

Do feel free to share this post with your friends and family so that they are aware of it and do not click on the links. I’ll be updating this post shortly with more information about the scam.

Free CityVille Coins and Cash Facebook Scam

Here we go again. A new Facebook scam is currently underway where users are clicking on links which promises to give them 4000000 coins and 400 cash from a website. The scam is spread through a message posted on the wall saying "OMG !! I CANT BELIVED IT WORKED !! IVE JUST GOT 4000000 COINS AND 400 1CASH FROM THIS WEBSITE CHECK IT OUT NOW – DONT MISS OUT -[redacted link]"

CityVille Zynga

Clicking on the link redirects you to a website which asks you to share the page twice and link the page twice and then post a message 10 times on CityVille related pages or CityVille related websites.

CityVille Coins Scam Facebook

I used my test account to perform the things told by the website and don’t be surprised when I say that it didn’t work at all. This thing also has scam written all over it, so please avoid it. Also, this website is created using a free website creator.

CityVille is the most popular game on created by Zynga, and there are bound to be people who take advantage of users run out of coins to play the games. Most of the Zynga games (and other games on Facebook) allow you a certain amount of coins/credits each day. Once you run out of them you can either purchase more coins/credits using actual money or undertake a survey to earn them for free.

Since people are so eager to get coins/credits to start playing again without spending money, such scams are highly successful. They don’t give you anything but fool you nevertheless.

"I Was Online For xx Hours In 2010" Facebook Scam Spreading

After a brief lull, a new Facebook scam has just popped it’s head out. The new scam is spread through wall post updates of people where users will see a text saying "I was online on FB for 4007 hours in 2010! Use this great tool to check how much hours you spent online."

I was Online Facebook Scam

As you can see the message is enticing enough for users to click on to actually see how many hours they have spent on . However, this is a scam and clicking on this link will lead you to the app asking for permissions. Once you give it permissions, it will automatically post an update to your wall with a similar message and then ask you to complete some surveys.

facebook_time_scam

The app is definitely a scam, because when I used it on an account created just for scams like these, it told me that I was online for 3988 hours in 2010, whereas as per my last recollection this account was only created in December and the max time I have spent online with this account can hardly go beyond a couple of hours.

Rest aside, do not click on this link and ask your friends who post such updates to delete it from their walls. Also if you are so keen to check how much time you spend on Facebook, check out some of our earlier articles.

My Total Facebook Views Scam Spreading On Facebook

Just a couple of days after the Facebook surprise message scam was unleashed another new Facebook scam is currently underway where users are posting messages on their profile saying "My total facebook views are: xxx. Find your total profile views link".

Facebook Profile Views Scam

The new Facebook scam is similar to another one which we had unearthed earlier where people were enticed to click on a link to know "who checked your Facebook profile". Both these scams are similar in nature as to providing users with data that does not provide them with.

However, you are better off staying away from clicking on the links accompanied with this message. All Facebook is reporting that the number accompanied with the update are inflated and that the survey users are forced to take is basically a waste of time. However, for the developer of the said app, it could mean a lot of money. Remember how Zynga asks users to  complete surveys to getting additional virtual money for their games?

So if your friend has updated their profile saying that their profile has been viewed so many times, kindly tell them about the scam and ask them to delete the update from their profile, lest someone else clicks on it.

Facebook Surprise Scam Spreading Through Facebook Messages

I have seen tons of Facebook scams which have been part of my feed, but for the first time today I came across a new "Facebook Surprise" scam which was sent through a direct message on Facebook.

Facebook Message Scam

With the new Facebook message scam, one or more of your contacts will send you a Facebook message saying "I got u surprise random website". The random website could be any website which then redirects you to a page which displays a message similar to the screenshot below.

Facebook Surprise Scam

First off, don’t click on the URL in the message, and secondly don’t click on the Get A Surprise Now message since it will not only send all your contacts a message with the link to the surprise, but also download a nice little surprise to your PC, which could contain Malware or Virus. STAY AWAY FROM IT.

As I have always suggested, don’t click on random links on Facebook. It is very hard to resist, but in the end you are not just affecting yourself but also putting all your Facebook friends in danger of passing it along.

New Facebook Scam: Girl Killed Herself After Dad Posted On Wall

Well, welcome to another new scam. This one is also as enticing as the past few one’s I have written about. But it looks like someone is just taking this scam to a new level altogether, saying that a girl committed suicide after her dad posted on her Facebook wall.

Facebook OMG Dad Killed Daughter Scam

This is not surprising at all, if you have read or seen the revolving images spam or the fake like button scam or the who checked your Facebook profile scam or the Free iPad test scam or the Cashreport Scam.

Spam Girl Killed Herself Facebook App

Once again, the page for this link leads to a Facebook app, which is nothing but an image with some clever comments et al, however, clicking on it will make you like that page and post a comment on your wall as seen above. Don’t click on anything and let your friends know about it too so that they can delete that update and not infect anyone else.

How can you avoid this? No matter how much we tell people to avoid fake warnings and hoaxes, they still manage to surprise us. We wish we could reach out to 500 million users. Just don’t click on links which look "sexy", "enticing" or "sounds really unreal". Many of these scams just take on human curiosity and succeed big time. So stay curious but don’t click on links which look enticing. If you do, you are just spreading the virus further. Remember, everything that glitters is not GOLD.

Facebook is a huge service, but things like these spoil everything. The amount of Scam and spams that get through to Facebook is astonishing. It is high time that Facebook does something about it. I don’t want to see 50% of my friends updates to be scam or spam posts in 2011.