This Girl Must Be out of Her Mind but Also a Genious for Making This Video – Facebook Scam
By on July 9th, 2011

Facebookers, be cautious. A message with a video link and a sexy image (thumbnail) might just appear on your Facebook wall that might tempt you to click on the link. The message is a scam and it might be shared and “liked” by your friend who must have fallen for it. The new Facebook scam titled – This girl must be Out of her Mind but also a Genious for making This video with the  description  - After they took her life away she decided to do genious revenge! is spreading on Facebook like wildfire.

This girl must be Out of her Mind but also a Genious for making This video

This particular scam first originated in January and then in March this year. Now the scam has made a come back again, and users on Facebook, as always, are tempted by the title and description of the scam by which they would click on the link provided in the scam that automatically “likes” and “shares” it on their Facebook wall.

The scam asks you to confirm your age by clicking “Jaa” twice. There isn’t any “Jaa” to click on, but clicking the “Play Video” button will certainly click-jack and like-jack your Facebook account.

This girl must be Out of her Mind but also a Genious for making This video

After you have  clicked  on “Play Video”, it will then redirect you to another page asking you to prove that you are a human by completing a 30 second test.

This girl must be Out of her Mind but also a Genious for making This video

It would then ask you to complete a survey which promises to display the video thereafter. There is no video after you have completed the survey, so don’t bother wasting your time in completing any surveys.

Like every other scam, this scam too has altered titles/messages. Here are the following alternate messages/titles:

!!!!hey lol check out this girl, i cant believe this video :DD

hey lol check out this girl,she i cant believe this video :DD

This Babe Must Be Out of Her Mind but also a Genious

This girl must be Out of her Mind but also a Genius for making This video!

Clicking such scam messages will automatically like-jack and click-jack your Facebook account without your knowledge. Sometimes, it may lead you to download malicious files into your computer that might enable scammers to access all your credentials including credit card details and email id.

In most cases, after clickjacking  and likejacking  your Facebook account, you will be directed to a survey page where the scammer promises to show you the video/image after completing the survey. However, there will be no video/image shown after you have completed the survey, since it is all fake

It is recommended that you DO NOT click any links on such scam messages. The best way to deal with this is to ignore it or delete/remove it from your Facebook wall. To remove a post from your Facebook wall, just click on the “X” mark on the top-right corner of the post. You may also want to Mark it as spam, so that your friends and other Facebookers are not affected.

Here’s an article  on  Avoiding Facebook Likejacking and Clickjacking scams.  We have also complied a list of  Actively Spreading Scams on Facebook for you to look through and avoid.

P.S. Hat tip to Amit Banerjee  for reporting the scam and sharing the  screenshot.

Tags: , , , ,
Author: Joel Fernandes Google Profile for Joel Fernandes
Joel Fernandes (G+) is a tech enthusiast and a social media blogger. During his leisure time, he enjoys taking photographs, and photography is one of his most loved hobbies. You can find some of his photos on Flickr. He does a little of web coding, and maintains a tech blog of his own - Techo Latte. Joel is currently pursuing his Masters in Computer Application from Bangalore, India. You can get in touch with him on Twitter - @joelfernandes, or visit his Facebook Profile for more information.

Joel Fernandes has written and can be contacted at joel@techie-buzz.com.
  • kudos

    haha nice, kinda funny that people can fall for that. Good thing im gay, cause even if i thought it was legit, id have no interest in the material. lol

  • Labeeb

    It’s makin my life miserable. I didn’t get any survey or any option but when I clicked on it, knowing it was from my friend, it asked me to install a plugin & now it’s posting it on my friends’ walls “by me”. It’s doing it continuously, even after you delete it :( I hope I don’t have to delete my account for it.

 
Copyright 2006-2012 Techie Buzz. All Rights Reserved. Our content may not be reproduced on other websites. Content Delivery by MaxCDN