Sharing photos with friends on social media sites like Facebook is certainly a fun feature, however, whether to share or not personal/sensitive photos on the site is something Facebook users are always concerned about. The worst part comes when you’ve deleted a photo that you no longer want anyone to view it, but it still exists somewhere and can be viewed with the direct link to the photo.
This issue with Facebook has been there for a while. Three years back Ars Technica’s Jacqui Cheng questioned Facebook on why deleted photos were still accessible although they were deleted from the user’s account, or photo album.
Well, Facebook did admit that it was facing certain problems and were figuring out a way to delete photos immediately after the user has deleted from his account. However, it seems like the issue has now been solved, and Facebook says that it will now delete photos from its servers within 30 days of getting a request. That is, the CDN links (direct photo links) will expire after a time period of 30 days after deletion.
Facebook spokesperson Frederic Wolens confirmed to Ars Technica that this was a result of Facebook’s new photo deletion policy and storage systems:
“As a result of work on our policies and infrastructure, we have instituted a ‘max-age’ of 30 days for our CDN links. However, in some cases the content will expire on the CDN much more quickly, based on a number of factors.”
He added, “As you know, the photos stop being shown to other users on Facebook immediately when the photo is first deleted by the user. The 30-day window only applies to the cached images on the CDN.”
It’s a big relief for all those worried Facebook users. However, precaution is better than cure. So, it’s always good to be careful of what you’re posting in the first place, particularly when it comes to Facebook.