Facebook Timeline Posting Users’ Location Data

Facebook is definite about making the new Timeline mandatory to all Facebook users, and has already started to automatically roll it out to those who are still using the old profile layout. This forced change has raged several users already, but looks like there’s more to add to it.

If you’re already using Facebook Timeline, you must be aware of the location feature, which allows you to share your current location with your friends from where you are posting an update. It is now reported that the feature is enabled by default and is now displaying a map with the location of the user posts something to Facebook.

Facebook Location Map

As reported by Search Engine Journal, “This map appears as a hyperlinked location tag at the end of a wall post after the ‘Like . . .’ and ‘Date.’ For example, if you posted last night from your San Francisco home, your post might end with ‘Yesterday at 9:18pm near San Francisco.’”

This change in the Facebook Timeline has raised concerns among many users who wish to keep their location private. If you’re concerned about your privacy on Facebook, and are looking for a way to disable or remove Facebook maps, then follow the steps below:Remove Facebook Maps

  • Go to your Facebook profile or your Timeline.
  • Simply expand the boxes by clicking the down arrow located below the Activity Log.
  • Now, hover over the top right corner of your ‘Map’ to display the edit icon.
  • Click the little pencil and then select ‘Remove from Favorites’.

For some users, Facebook has become really painful to use with so many new and unwanted features being implemented. I’m pretty sure that almost half of Facebook users are not aware of the various features that it offers. It is unclear if Facebook is implementing these changes only because it fears that it could be the next MySpace, or the next Orkut. What are your thoughts on this?

2 thoughts on “Facebook Timeline Posting Users’ Location Data”

  1. This is one of the reasons why Facebook has become such a massive pain in the backside recently, implementing elements that most didn’t want in the first place. I know very few people who are actually happy with the timeline change.

  2. Hello. Even if i remove the small “map” box as shown here, the “bigger” map-box is still present on top of my timeline.
    The “funny” thing is that I cannot see it from my own account, but it shows up looking at my timeline from any one of my friends’ profiles!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>