For a long period of time Facebook has been allowing users to send friend requests to anyone and everyone. However, it looks like they are now changing the way people send out friend requests, which might be something similar to what LinkedIn does.
As you can see in the image above, Facebook is now asking users whether or not they know the person they are sending a request to. The entire message reads:
Are you sure you know person name?
If you send a request to a stranger, it will be considered spam and your friend request will be blocked temporarily. Please only send this request if you know person name.
I am not really sure how Facebook is going to determine whether or not the person you are sending a request to is a stranger or not, but they do have an option in place right now where they allow users to specify if they know a person or not. Also a lot of people end up sending requests to people they might not personally know but have been following their blog or website, so would these requests be considered as spam too?
Are you seeing these kind of messages while sending out friend requests to users? Do let me know through your comments.