I Can’t Believe You Are In This Video [Facebook Scam Warning]
By on May 16th, 2011

A new Facebook scam is spreading across the site. This time the scam takes a more personalized approach with wall posts that contain a user’s name with a message which varies.

Facebook Scams

The scam is spreading with messages like "WTF [name] I can’t believe you’re in this video", "ROFL I cant believe you’re tagged in this video", "WTF!! [name] you should untag yourself from the video", "OMG, I can’t believe you are tagged in this video", "WTF!!!, why are you tagged in this video" and so on.

The messages in the wall post may vary and clicking on those links will lead you to spread the infection to your friends too. Please do not click on those links as it will spread the virus to your friends too.

This is definitely a new approach taken by scamsters where they are personally targeting people. In the past, they have used such scam messages to entice users to click on videos for popular celebrities like Miley Cyrus, Justin Bieber and more recently the infamous Osama Bin Laden Censored Video scam.

Facebook scams play on two very important traits of the generic Facebook user:-

  1. Their vanity (since they are on a service that asks them to put up their beautiful faces on a book for everyone to see)
  2. Their primal instinct to click things that either deride, complement or supplement their vanity with curiosity.

It is the perfect formula for success. Earlier it was a video about some kid who had summoned the Old Gods to his school (or something else, but it was titled very specifically as "OMG Look What This Kid Did To His School" so I am assuming it was either this or setting it on fire and my money is on the more sinister one.) youtubevid The current scam is a link to [surprise!] a videofrom a friend on Facebook who has apparently seen a video of you on YouTube that either has you looking stupid or has you doing such a fantastic and unthinkable act that said friend cannot  believe that you are "tagged" in such a video.

It is very silly since one cannot be tagged in a YouTube video, and sillier because- no, it cannot possibly get sillier than that. If a user clicks on this link it [probably, since I have no tested this] asks them for access of their entire profile, including friends list and what not. Then the script launches into the entire friend list and links this "video" on each friend’s wall.

The cleverest part of this scam is that it includes the first name of the to-be-victim in the most generic way. Very sneaky. Also incredibly annoying.

As a precautionary measure, always check which applications you use and remove unwanted or suspicious ones. If you aren’t sure how to do that, you can always check our guide on removing apps from Facebook. In addition, don’t forget to check out our article about Avoiding Facebook Lifejacking and Clickjacking scams.

(Additional Reporting  by Kaushik Narasimhan)

Tags: , , , ,
Author: Keith Dsouza Google Profile for Keith Dsouza
I am the editor-in-chief and owner of Techie Buzz. I love coding and have contributed to several open source projects in the past. You can know more about me and my projects by visiting my Personal Website. I am also a social networking enthusiast and can be found active on twitter, you can follow Keith on twitter @keithdsouza. You can click on my name to visit my Google+ profile.

Keith Dsouza has written and can be contacted at keith@techie-buzz.com.
 
Copyright 2006-2012 Techie Buzz. All Rights Reserved. Our content may not be reproduced on other websites. Content Delivery by MaxCDN