A new scam has been spreading on Facebook enticing users to install a rouge application program. The scam titled – “What does your name mean?” will be updated on the user’s Facebook profile automatically after the user has clicked on the link provided in the message.
The link takes you to a Facebook page where you are asked in install an application. Installing the application will grant the developer of the app to access your basic information. In the next screen, you will be asked to “share” the link with your friends on Facebook. In the end, you are asked to complete an online survey in order to view “premium” content -
Note: The scam uses multiple domains. You may see variations in the landing pages, but they are all the same.
Scammers trick users by posting content like this in order to get users complete online surveys. Sometimes, they try to extract your personal information as well as financial details, like credit card number or bank account number. Entering these details will pose serious threats to your accounts, so please avoid entering your credentials.
I suggest you to remove the scam from your news feed by clicking on the X mark on the top-right corner of the post. Alternatively you can report the scam to the Facebook Security team.
As a precautionary measure, always check which applications you use and remove unwanted or suspicious ones. If you aren’t sure how to do it, you can always check our guide on removing apps from Facebook. In addition to that, don’t forget to check out our article about Avoiding Facebook Lifejacking and Clickjacking scams.