All Facebook Profiles Must Be Verified – Facebook Scam
By on May 27th, 2012

A new scam message is spreading across the social networking giant Facebook, where users are asked to verify their Facebook account before the 1st of June. Failing to do so will force the Facebook team to “terminate” the account. The message indicates that the process of verification is done in order to avoid scams under the Stop Online Piracy Act (SOPA).

The message is spreading as follow -

WARNING : Announcement From FACEB00K Verification Team. All Profiles Must Be Verified Before 1st June 2012 To Avoid Scams and Scams Under SOPA ACT. The Unverfied Accounts Will Be Terminated. Verfiy Your Accounts Soon at bit.ly

Facebook Account Verification - Scam

By looking at the misspelled words in the message, one should understand the message is a fake. Also, if in case there was anything as such, then Facebook would never user bit.ly’s URL shorter, since it has its own URL shortner fb.me

Verifying your Facebook account enables you to take advantage of Facebook’s features. For instance, once your account is verified you can upload videos and personalize your profile (timeline) URL by adding a username to your account.

This, however, doesn’t mean that if do not verify your account, your account will be disabled or “terminated.”

Now, clicking on the link in the above spreading scam message will take you to the following Facebook application installation screen:

Facebook verification App

This is rogue application, and associating the app with your Facebook account will give the developers of the app access to your complete profile information, including all your photos, and also post updates on your behalf. Along with that, it will also enable them spam the scam message to all your friends by tagging them in post updates.

How to Verify Facebook Account?

If in case you’re curious to know on how you can verify your Facebook account, follow the steps mentioned below:

  • Once you have created a Facebook account, you can verify your account by adding a mobile number to it. Enter your mobile number, starting with the country code (ex: 1 for US numbers).
  • Facebook will then send you a confirmation code as a text message. Enter this code into the space provided to verify your account.
  • You can also do this from your Mobile Settings page (Account > Account Settings > Mobile).

Note that you can only use your mobile phone to verify one account. To know more about verifying your Facebook account, then click here.

Tags: ,
Author: Joel Fernandes Google Profile for Joel Fernandes
Joel Fernandes (G+) is a tech enthusiast and a social media blogger. During his leisure time, he enjoys taking photographs, and photography is one of his most loved hobbies. You can find some of his photos on Flickr. He does a little of web coding, and maintains a tech blog of his own - Techo Latte. Joel is currently pursuing his Masters in Computer Application from Bangalore, India. You can get in touch with him on Twitter - @joelfernandes, or visit his Facebook Profile for more information.

Joel Fernandes has written and can be contacted at joel@techie-buzz.com.
  • http://www.facebook.com/people/Erwin-Custer/1353320628 Erwin Custer

    thanks for the info.. posted.

  • http://www.facebook.com/people/Erwin-Custer/1353320628 Erwin Custer

    thanks for the info.. posted.

  • Elise Olarte

    Thanks for the info. But I clicked it already because I didn’t know it was a scam and I received notifications from friends inviting me to “verify my account”. I clicked the part 1 of the process which sent notifications to all my Facebook friends and then the next part of the process which redirected me to a site with a dialog box urging me to click one of the links (which I didn’t). I’m sure a lot of my Facebook friends did the same mistake. What do we do now? and what will happen?

  • Elise Olarte

    Thanks for the info. But I clicked it already because I didn’t know it was a scam and I received notifications from friends inviting me to “verify my account”. I clicked the part 1 of the process which sent notifications to all my Facebook friends and then the next part of the process which redirected me to a site with a dialog box urging me to click one of the links (which I didn’t). I’m sure a lot of my Facebook friends did the same mistake. What do we do now? and what will happen?

 
Copyright 2006-2012 Techie Buzz. All Rights Reserved. Our content may not be reproduced on other websites. Content Delivery by MaxCDN