Stop Posts from Showing in Facebook Ticker – Facebook Hoax
By on December 29th, 2011

Facebook announced its new Timeline feature way back in September, and allowed Facebook Developers to experience the new profile layout. Timeline was then released worldwide starting from New Zealand.

Users on Facebook reported that they found the Timeline confusing and cluttered. However, this didn’t bother Facebook, since they’re quite confident that people will eventually get used to it.

While the appeal to disable the Facebook Timeline continues, a new hoax message has been reportedly spreading on the network, which claims to help users disable the Facebook Ticker and limit hackers from hacking your account. The following message has gone viral and is showing up on Newsfeeds everywhere:

“With the new FB timeline’ on its way this week for EVERYONE…please do both of us a favor: Hover over my name above. In a few seconds you’ll see a box that says Subscribed.Hover over that, then go to Comments and Likesand Gamesand un-click it. That will stop my posts and yours to me from showing up on the side bar(ticker) for everyone to see, but MOST IMPORTANTLY it LIMITS HACKERS from invading our profiles. If you re-post this I will do the same for you. You’ll know I’ve acknowledged you because if you tell me that you’ve done it I’ll like’ it. Thanks”

Stop Posts from Showing in Facebook Ticker - Facebook Hoax

The methods mentioned in the hoax message will not protect your Facebook account from hackers or improve your privacy. The best way to protect your information and other details on Facebook is by setting all of your privacy and sharing settings to ‘friends only.’ This way, whatever you share on Facebook will be limited to your friends only.

It is always good to verify messages like this before you re-post it on Facebook or elsewhere. If you’re not sure about the message, then the best thing to do is to ignore or delete it. Scammers create such fake messages in order to scare users, and trick them to re-post it.

We recommend you to go through the official document released by Facebook called Guide To Facebook Security, which will definitely help you tackle scam messages. The document is available for free and you can  download  a copy of it from the  Facebook Security Page. We have also compiled a list of  Most Actively Spreading Scams on Facebook  that you might want to have a look at.

Bookmark  Techie Buzz Facebook Scams. We always keep you updated with the  latest scams spreading on Facebook.

Tags: , , ,
Author: Joel Fernandes Google Profile for Joel Fernandes
Joel Fernandes (G+) is a tech enthusiast and a social media blogger. During his leisure time, he enjoys taking photographs, and photography is one of his most loved hobbies. You can find some of his photos on Flickr. He does a little of web coding, and maintains a tech blog of his own - Techo Latte. Joel is currently pursuing his Masters in Computer Application from Bangalore, India. You can get in touch with him on Twitter - @joelfernandes, or visit his Facebook Profile for more information.

Joel Fernandes has written and can be contacted at joel@techie-buzz.com.
  • L

    Actually, the problem is, that when facebook switched over to this new timeline, it subbed you to all persons in your friends list, instead of giving you the option of who you wanted to be subbed to.

    However, when you click on your subs none of your friends are listed. Its all screwy. When you sub to somebody you have the option of what you want to see in the scrolling status box. It only shows you the subs information.

    If you have over 500 friends, you now have 500 people you are subbed to and you see everything they do. You also get to see comments and pictures, etc. to friends of theirs. I can actually see comments and pics from people that I am not friends with and they have their stuff closed off.

    By unchecking the likes and comments, it helps clear up much of the activity going on in the status subscription bar. Unless I am missing something, we don’t have the option of what we would like of ours to show up in the status bar, only the option of all our friends.

 
Copyright 2006-2012 Techie Buzz. All Rights Reserved. Our content may not be reproduced on other websites. Content Delivery by MaxCDN