Stay Privately Connected Facebook Hoax

A new hoax message appears to be spreading on Facebook, and this time it is about Facebook’s privacy issues. According to the message, users are requesting to be privately connected with thier friends in order to avoid friends of friends to view activities like photo “likes” and comments.

Here is the hoax message that has gone viral on Facebook:

“To all my FB friends, may I request you to please do something for me: I want to stay PRIVATELY connected with you. However, with the recent changes in FB, the public can now see activities in any wall. This happens when our friends hit “like” or “comment”, automatically, their friends would see our posts too. Unfortunately, we cannot change this setting by ourselves because Facebook has configured it this way. So I need your help. Only you can do this for me. PLEASE place your mouse over my name above (do not click), a window will appear, now move the mouse on “FRIENDS” (also without clicking), then down to “Settings”, click here and a list will appear. REMOVE the CHECK on “COMMENTS & LIKE” by clicking on it. By doing this, my activity amongst my friends and my family will no longer become public. Many thanks! Paste this on your wall so your contacts would follow suit too, that is, if you care about your privacy.”

The message is a hoax and most of it contains inaccurate information. Facebook has not done any recent changes to its privacy settings that enable the “public” to view your Facebook activities, unless you have set your privacy settings to “Public”.

From the message, it is known that users are concerned about their activities and photos being visible to friends of friends when a particular friend “likes” or comments on it. These activities are not shown on their news feed, but actually dislayed on the rolling real time list of what your friends are doing – the Facebook Ticker.

If you’re concerned about what you post on your Timeline could be visible to friends of friends via the Facebook Ticker, then there’s a solution to avoid that – Stop using the “Friends of friends” setting. This is why every second degree contacts will be able to view your posts and photos that your friend “likes” or comments on.

To change this, go to your Facebook privacy settings and click the edit settings of “Timeline and Tagging,” and change the visibility to “Friends” only:

Timeline and Tagging

 

However, to avoid this, you will have to convince your friend/s to do the same. Additionally, “limit” all previous posts you have made via the privacy settings – According to what Sophos says, “this will change everything to “friends” only and will stop people you deleted but did not block, people who sent you friend requests that you ignored, and friends of friends from seeing your activity.”

3 thoughts on “Stay Privately Connected Facebook Hoax”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>