Facebook Padlock Security Warning Hoax Message

Recently Facebook enabled a new feature on its site called as the “Privacy Shortcuts” that provides users the ability to easily and quickly make changes to your profile’s privacy settings. The update also brings “an easier-to-use Activity Log, and a new Request and Removal tool for managing multiple photos you’re tagged in.”

However, users on Facebook are spreading a false message, which indicates that hackers can gain access Facebook accounts if users answer the low security message –

Facebook Padlock Security Warning Hoax

Facebook Padlock Security Warning Hoax:

HACKERS ALERT….. ATTENTION!!!!! IF ANY OF YOU GET A PADLOCK ON TOP RIGHT HAND CORNER OF FACEBOOK HOME PAGE SAYING YOUR SECURITY IS LOW.. IGNORE.. DO NOT, DO NOT, DO NOT ANSWER THE QUESTIONS.IT IS SO HACKERS CAN ACCESS YOUR ACCOUNT. COPY & PASTE PLEASE

Please understand that the new icon is enabled only to easily access your privacy settings and to avoid confusion. There is no such threat of hackers that the message above claims to be. The shortcut icon cannot be removed and there’s absolutely no harm to your Facebook accounts.

The above message spreading is simply a hoax. Hoax messages like the one above isn’t something new. There have been several such hoax messages reportedly spreading and spamming the social networks. It is always advised that users verify such information before spreading it across to their friends. A quick search on Google will help you find out whether the message is a fake or not.

We at Techie Buzz always try to keep you updated with the latest scams spreading on Facebook. You can follow our dedicated Facebook page where we report all spreading scams – Techie Buzz Scam Monitor.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>