Beware of “Twitter Video Facebook App” and Fake DMs
By on October 16th, 2012

A new Facebook scam app has been doing the rounds lately on the social networking site Facebook and Twitter, by asking users to login to a fake Twitter page in order to watch a video that could leave them surprised. The app sends out Direct Messages to all the followers of that Twitter account containing a bogus message and a link to the Facebook app page.

The Direct Message sent to includes the message “lol ur famous now” along with the link to the Facebook app page.  Alternate messages sent include, “oh dear, what have you been up to,” “what are you doing in this fb vid?,” “wow ur busted in this video,” and so on.

Here is a list of all the DMs that users have received:

  • hey this person is making up offensive things that are about youTwitter DM Spam
  • what are you doing in this viddeoo ROFL
  • hey this user is making up shocking things that are about you
  • what are you doing with him n this video
  • wat r u doing with him in this vidd  ROFL
  • you didnt tell me you had a video
  • the link i sent before was messed up!
  • wow your busted in this video!
  • whatt are you doing in this fb vid ?
  • precisely what could you be doing on this video clip omg weird
  • hey this user is making up dreadful posts that are about you
  • lol ur famous now
  • hey someone is writing cruel things that are about you

Clicking the link would bring end-users to the following app page with the title “Twitter Video: You must be logged into Twitter to use this app.”

Twitter Video Facebook App

Please be aware that this is a fake Twitter page that is designed to look exactly like a genuine Twitter login page. If you provide your login details here and click on Sign In, you will either end up on an error page, or you will be shown a fake YouTube video player with a list of online survey questions. The page will prompt you to answer the online survey questions first before you can watch the video. However, even after you take up the online survey, there will be no video shown; instead you will be redirected to another bogus page.

Additionally, your login details are sent to the owner of the Facebook app page, who in turn uses it to login to your Twitter account and send Direct Messages to all your followers. If you have accidentally entered your login details, it is recommended that you immediately change your account password, and unlink apps that you might have not given the permission to be associated with your Twitter account.

Alternatively, if you think you’ve found a spam profile, you can follow these steps to report it to Twitter:

  • Visit the spam account’s profile.
  • Click the person icon. This brings up a drop-down Actions menu (see image below).
  • Click on Report @username for spam.

There are a number of scam messages spreading on Twitter and Facebook, and it advised to be careful before clicking any links. Some of the phishing attacks on Twitter have spread through DM messages like “You Seen What This Person is Saying About You Terrible Things” and “Somebody is Saying Real Bad Rumors About You“.

h/t @nileshgr 

Tags:
Author: Joel Fernandes Google Profile for Joel Fernandes
Joel Fernandes (G+) is a tech enthusiast and a social media blogger. During his leisure time, he enjoys taking photographs, and photography is one of his most loved hobbies. You can find some of his photos on Flickr. He does a little of web coding, and maintains a tech blog of his own - Techo Latte. Joel is currently pursuing his Masters in Computer Application from Bangalore, India. You can get in touch with him on Twitter - @joelfernandes, or visit his Facebook Profile for more information.

Joel Fernandes has written and can be contacted at joel@techie-buzz.com.
 
Copyright 2006-2012 Techie Buzz. All Rights Reserved. Our content may not be reproduced on other websites. Content Delivery by MaxCDN