HTC Hero Wins the Best Mobile Handset Award


GSMA announced the winners of the Global Mobile Awards held at Mobile World Congress where, HTC Hero won the coveted title of the Best Mobile Handset of 2010.

Here is the list of awards that were given out in 19 Different categories ranging from Mobile Marketing and Advertising to Green Mobile Awards etc.

Best Mobile Game

Winner: Iricom The Last City Fight For Your Life!

Best Mobile Music Service

Winner: Odyssey Music Group Deezer

Best Mobile Advertising or Marketing

Winner: CLANMO GmbH and OgilvyOne The IKEA PS Mobile Interior Planning Tool

Best Mobile TV Service

Winner: CBS Mobile TV.COM

Best Mobile Location Based Advertising Campaign

Winner: R/GA Nokia viNe

Best Mobile Enterprise Product or Service

Winner: Research In Motion BlackBerry Enterprise Server v5.0

Best Mobile Internet Service

Winner: adaffix Gmbh YELLIX

Best Mobile Money Service

Winner: Safaricom M-PESA (bulk payment & utility bill) extension to service

Best Use of Mobile for Social and Economic Development

Winner: Grameen Foundation, MTN Uganda, and Google The Grameen Foundation Application Laboratory (AppLab)

Best Mobile Money for the Unbanked Service

Winner: Zain Bahrain B.S.C ZAP

The Green Mobile Award for Best Green Programme, Product or Initiative

Winner: VNL VNL’s solar-powered GSM base station

Green Network Award

Winner: Mocambique Celular S.A.R.L (mcel) Eco Naturalmente (Naturally Thinking Green)

Best Network Technology Advance

Winner: SkyCross Inc SkyCross iMAT (isolated mode antenna technology) Antennas

Best Service Delivery Platform

Winner: Huawei Technologies Co Ltd Huawei SDP solution

Best Billing & Customer Care Solution

Winner: Mobile TeleSystems (MTS) You Individual Optimal Tariff Plan

Best Mobile Technology Breakthrough

Winner: Orange Mobile High Definition (HD) Voice

Best Mobile Handset or Device

Winner: HTC HTC Hero

Best Mobile Connected Device (non-handsets)

Winner: Novatel Wireless Inc. MiFi Intelligent Mobile Hotspot

Government Leadership Award

Winner: Kenya

GSMA Chairman’s Award

Winner: Carl-Henric Svanberg, Former CEO of Ericsson and currently Chairman BP

Mobile Industry Personality of the Year as Voted for by the Media

Winner: Steve Jobs, Co-Founder and CEO Apple


Published by

Apurva Chaudhary

Apurva is a tech enthusiast, works at ClassMatrix , cycles on her Firefox Cyclone, and runs a newsletter at Techknots . Follow her on Twitter