How To Disable/Turn Off Gmail Priority Inbox
By on September 8th, 2010

Google recently rolled out a new and interesting feature called "Priority Inbox" to all users. The new feature sorts important messages giving you different views so that you can scan all your important messages.

Priority Inbox does not take over your old Inbox and you can easily view the full Inbox by clicking on the Inbox link in the sidebar, however, if you want to disable the Priority Inbox feature in , you can also do it through the settings.

To disable or turn off in Gmail, visit your settings page (click link to directly go there) and click on the "Priority Inbox" link at the top. Scroll down to the bottom of the page till you see "Show Priority Inbox" and select the radio button next to "Do not show Priority Inbox" and click on the "Save Changes" button.

Disable Gmail Priority Inbox

That’s it, you will no longer be shown the Priority Inbox in Gmail. If you want to enable Priority Inbox, go back to the settings page and click on the radio button next to "Show Priority Inbox".

Tags: , , ,
Author: Keith Dsouza Google Profile for Keith Dsouza
I am the editor-in-chief and owner of Techie Buzz. I love coding and have contributed to several open source projects in the past. You can know more about me and my projects by visiting my Personal Website. I am also a social networking enthusiast and can be found active on twitter, you can follow Keith on twitter @keithdsouza. You can click on my name to visit my Google+ profile.

Keith Dsouza has written and can be contacted at keith@techie-buzz.com.
  • Jack

    I dont know if Google has changed that, but i couldnt find the option. Could you tell me if this still works?
    Thanks.

  • Lerner M

    They’ve now changed it (Fall 2011). They’re not using the word “Priority” any more.

    Go to: Mail Settings (Gear Icon in upper R corner of Main Gmail page)
    Select: Inbox
    Under “Importance Markers, Select: “No Markers”
    Scroll down, and click: “Save Changes” !!

    • Jack

      I checked your message, tried, but found out I already had that configuration. It’s ok anyway, I guess I got used to it.

 
Copyright 2006-2012 Techie Buzz. All Rights Reserved. Our content may not be reproduced on other websites. Content Delivery by MaxCDN