Enable or Disable Google Buzz

Quite recently we gave you options to disable Google Buzz emails and Buzz update counts in Gmail. However. it turns out Google does provide a much more easier to disable completely for users who do not want to use it.

turn_off_google_buzz

If you are a user who has no use for Google Buzz, login to your Gmail account and scroll down to the bottom of the page. In the footer links you will see a link which says "turn off buzz".

Just click on that link and Google Buzz will disappear from your Gmail account forever. If you want to turn on Google Buzz again, scroll down to the bottom and click on the "turn on buzz" link.

Thanks @touserpandi

20 thoughts on “Enable or Disable Google Buzz”

  1. Thanks Keith, Iw as wondering if they have the option. Facebook Twitter and google status messages were not enough apparantly… But I turned it off and Life is simpler again…:)

  2. dear keith,

    thanks for the trick. but i have a doubt. does turning off the buzz imply that others will not be able to see me on the buzz network?? also, all my contacts are visible to all contacts. how do i prevent it??

    1. @Balaji – Once you disable it no one will be able to see your updates, also to verify whether or not anyone can see your following or followers visit your Google Profile page, there is no other place where users can see it

      1. Not true. Turned off Buzz hours ago and other users can still see my shared Reader items. That bottom link does NOT turn off Buzz for me (just my view of it)

        1. Hal is totally correct. I used the link at the bottom of the page to "turn off" buzz 3 or 4 days ago, but all of my previously linked sites were STILL auto-publishing to my buzz. So all it does is turn off your DISPLAY of buzz, not the actual publishing. This is completely lame and a total FAIL on google's part.

  3. How do I get rid of that 'buzz' thingie? I searched all day, then I saw this ….and I turned off buzz! ….. thank you … (((HUG)))

  4. This actually is NOT enough to disable Buzz. Other buzz users will still see all your followers/followees. You need to remove everyone you're following before hiding Buzz if you don't want the world to know who you email the most.

  5. In addition, your status updates will still show up in Buzz users' timelines as well as your Google profile. This is a major, major flaw.

  6. mine just says this:

    Send photos easily from Gmail with Google's free photo organizer. Learn more

    You are currently using 1 MB (0%) of your 7467 MB.

    Gmail view: standard with chat | standard without chat | basic HTML Learn more

    ©2010 Google – Terms – Gmail Blog – Google Home

  7. Dear Keith,

    Thank you for the advice on disabling Goggle Buzz; I follow your instructions, I hope this is the end of it.

    I have another concern with my privacy in Facebook; I’m not quite sure how secure my site to those are not my friends, what they see when they search on my name. I would like my site very secure in Facebook. Can you help me with it? Many thanks for your time and help..

  8. I click on TURN OFF BUZZ at the bottom of the screen and NOTHING HAPPENS. It does NOT change to TURN ON BUZZ, it just does nothing at all. So how in the heck do I get the crap off?????

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>