How To Delete/Deactivate Facebook Account Permanently
By on August 13th, 2010

users are usually worried a lot about their privacy and what information is available online. Facebook does help users to setup simplified privacy controls, however, there have been a lot of controversies over Privacy at Facebook.

Delete Facebook Permanently. Quit Facebook.

If you are someone who is fed up of the privacy issues with Facebook or just want to delete your account, here are the instructions you will require to perform the task. If you are looking for an easier way, you might want to check out How To Delete your Account from Any Website.

Deactivating Your Facebook Account

Deactivating your Facebook account will not completely delete it, however, it will temporarily freeze the account and your profile and all information associated with it are immediately made inaccessible to other Facebook users.

Deactivate Facebook Account

However, when you deactivate your Facebook account, your profile information including friends, photos, status updates etc are still available with Facebook. You can use the deactivate option when you are looking to go on a temporary break or are not sure whether you really want to delete your Facebook account.

To deactivate your Facebook account, follow the steps given below.

  1. Login to your Facebook account
  2. Open your Account settings page
  3. Click on the "deactivate" link at the bottom of the page. You will be taken to another page where Facebook will try to defer you from deactivating your account and provide you with options on what you want to deactivate etc
  4. After you have made your selections, click on the "Confirm" button at the bottom of the page to "Deactivate your Facebook account"

The plus point with deactivating your account is that you will be able to reactivate it at a future date and get your profile back as it is.

Deleting Your Facebook Account

delete_facebook_account

Some users might just want to delete their account forever. If you are someone who has decided to delete your Facebook account forever, follow the instructions given below.

  1. Login to your Facebook account
  2. Head over to the "Delete My Account" page
  3. Make sure that you want to delete you account and then click on the Submit button.

Follow whatever steps you are asked to go through to close down and delete you Facebook account permanently. You can also read more at this help page on Facebook.

Tags: , ,
Author: Keith Dsouza Google Profile for Keith Dsouza
I am the editor-in-chief and owner of Techie Buzz. I love coding and have contributed to several open source projects in the past. You can know more about me and my projects by visiting my Personal Website. I am also a social networking enthusiast and can be found active on twitter, you can follow Keith on twitter @keithdsouza. You can click on my name to visit my Google+ profile.

Keith Dsouza has written and can be contacted at keith@techie-buzz.com.
  • http://lesleyklatt.com/ Lesley "Wes&quo

    Hey Keith,

    Handy info. Bookmarked for later…Thanks!

    Lesley

  • Laurie

    About a month ago,I tried to sine on to Facebook,but it said that my account had been disabled. I was sent to check the help/faqs. Nothing pertained to me,I sent an email and haven’t receieved a response nor did they reinstate me. This happened once before but was put back on within a day. I am exasperated and hope that you can help.

  • Mili

    need help on deleting someone else acoount

 
Copyright 2006-2012 Techie Buzz. All Rights Reserved. Our content may not be reproduced on other websites. Content Delivery by MaxCDN